Understanding Our Jewish Friends: Dialogue with Dr Yehezkel Landau. Presented in collaboration with the Salisbury Congregational Church and the Scoville Memorial Library.

By |April 30th, 2017|

 

 

Understanding Our Jewish Friends: Dialogue with  Dr Yehezkel Landau. Join Jewish scholar and International Peace maker Dr. Landau. He is a dual Israeli-American citizen, is […]

Concert with The Hevreh Ensemble.

By |April 30th, 2017|

The Hevreh Ensemble was formed in 2001 when Oboist Judith Dansker gathered a group of highly acclaimed musicians to perform a concert for Hevreh of […]

The White Hart Author Series with  Samin Nosrat author of  “Salt, Fat. Acid, Heat: The Elements of Good Cooking” in collaboration with the White Hart, Oblong Books & Music, and the Scoville Memorial Library

By |April 28th, 2017|

 

In the tradition of The Joy of Cooking and How to Cook Everything comes Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat, an ambitious new approach to cooking by […]

Mark Scarbrough:  Master Pieces: The Brilliant, Small Works Of Henry James

By |April 27th, 2017|

Mark Scarbrough is back with another of his engaging literary lecture series.

An ex-patriot, a gadabout, a raconteur, and mostly a master craftsman, Henry James did […]

Mark Scarbrough:  Master Pieces: The Brilliant, Small Works Of Henry James

By |April 20th, 2017|

Mark Scarbrough is back with another of his engaging literary lecture series.

An ex-patriot, a gadabout, a raconteur, and mostly a master craftsman, Henry James did […]

SPECIAL EVENT: Dr. Priyamvada Natarajan, Astrophysicist at Yale University discusses her book “Mapping the Heavens”

By |April 13th, 2017|

From time immemorial humans have been charting the night sky and trying to make sense of it and contemplating their place in the cosmos. Natarajan […]

Mark Scarbrough:  Master Pieces: The Brilliant, Small Works Of Henry James

By |April 13th, 2017|

Mark Scarbrough is back with another of his engaging literary lecture series.

An ex-patriot, a gadabout, a raconteur, and mostly a master craftsman, Henry James did […]

Poetry Potpourri: Readings in Celebration of Poetry Month

By |April 9th, 2017|

 

“Poetry is what gets lost in translation”

— Robert Frost

 

In  celebration of National Library Week and National Poetry Month Scoville Memorial Library is having its […]

Horace Holley: Transylvania University and the Making of Liberal Education in the Early American Republic presented by Dr James P. Cousins

By |April 8th, 2017|

A collaboration of the Salisbury Association Historical Society and the Scoville Memorial Library

Outspoken Salisbury native Horace Holley (1781–1827) was an unlikely choice to become the […]

Saturday Book Club: “There’s Something I Want You To Do” by Charles Baxter

By |April 8th, 2017|

Five stories named for virtues and five for vices make up this collection from a master craftsman. Baxter’s characters muddle through small but pivotal moments, […]